Testimony of a Book Addict

They say there are two parts of being a writer: One is you take the time to sit down and actually write something, no matter how bad it comes out on your first attempt. The other is reading books, whether it be for pleasure, to get ideas for the genre you want to publish in and so on. But, there is something that comes along with being an avid reader and writer.

Becoming a self-proclaimed book addict.

You’re probably reading this and thinking, “OK Kristin, how does being a book addict fit into the two parts of being a writer?” Simple, to be a writer, you have to read quite a bit and that includes trying to keep up as best you can with the current bestsellers and books by your favorite authors. This also means keeping track of what sells in the publishing industry.

I started to think about this more after spotting an article from Publishers Weekly on my Twitter feed earlier this week. The article is titled “The Wonderful and Terrible Habit of Buying Too Many Books.” Even though the article was published back in 2012, it still rang true for me as I read it (I’ve enclosed a link to the article at the end of this post). For me, two things draw me to buying a book: the cover and the premise. After that, I’m sold and buy the book. I mean, I do go to the library to check out books too…but I see more and more how many times I buy books.I used to joke to friends I had about 30 books on my shelf, that was the average.

Then I went to college. The bookstores in downtown Northampton that were my sanctuaries for browsing from stressful days or to be alone for a few hours became deathtraps as I started to take my writing more seriously and regain my confidence again. So as my final semester of college ended, seeing the numerous books that would add to the ones back at my house…I knew I would have to cut back. So I requested no books for my birthday this year. Maybe even Christmas if I make it that far, but that’s not the point.

But even when I try to cut back, I still fall in that hole and more books are added. My collection has become almost twice the amount, and that’s not counting the writing reference books on my desk! :O

Plus, even when you make a wish list on Amazon…you still add in the books you’ve been waiting months upon months for. Plus, when you add more books, you don’t have a chance to read them right away because you’ve started a few already!! Right now, I have three books I’m reading: Rachel Hauck’s latest novel The Wedding Chapel, Jennifer Rodewald’s Reclaimed and Katie Ganshert’s award-winning novel A Broken Kind of Beautiful, which I FINALLY got after spending months in Barnes and Noble  finding it not in stock! Plus, I FINALLY just finished Francine Rivers’ (having the same last name is mere coincidence) A Lineage of Grace. Also, my Mom recently told me about this website about Bookbub to find free and discounted ebooks. Blame me if you add these books or website to the list!! O:D

Thanks to the discovery of Bookbub, I got two free ebooks. The struggle continues. But at the same time, it’s fun to explore new genres and books to add to the collection!

So readers, what do you do when you find yourself amid an ever growing pile of books? Do you try to maintain control? Or do you still give in? Leave a comment with your stories!

Publishers Weekly Article “The Wonderful and Terrible Habit of Too Many Books”

Also, what are your thoughts on the 2012 article from Publishers Weekly? Does this ring true for you four years later, or have your habits changed since?

3 thoughts on “Testimony of a Book Addict

  1. I had the issue of buying too many books in middle school and high school… My bookshelves became overflowing! Since college started, I’m proud to say I’ve only bought textbooks / books for classes. I have used the libraries for free reading! So that way, I get to read more books but I don’t have to spend more money on them (and I also get to save space…!). I went to the library a few days ago and borrowed a bunch of books. 🙂 Currently reading Cambodia Noir by Nick Seeley and Tricks by Ellen Hopkins. Also re-reading some old favorites. What’s next on your reading list, Kristin?

    Like

Leave a Reply

