A New Adventure Awaits: Trying New Writing Outlets and Getting Work Out There

The past few days have been difficult inspiration wise. Emotions getting in the way with various things hindering my creativity and leaving me stuck in a big rut. After recently completing a short fiction piece for publication in a superhero anthology called Behind the Mask (will hear back between October and November) , I found myself drained. Maybe I pushed myself too hard, or, after completing one project, I wanted to give myself a few days before moving to the next one. My next project is another short story in the horror genre for a writing showcase centered around a haunted hotel. The deadline is October 1st, under two weeks from now.

Why do I say a new adventure awaits? Trying out new genres? Turning to various sources for contests to get my creativity going? Watching for publication opportunities through emails and social media? The answers to all those questions are yes.

But also a new feat, one that I tried at one time when I was naive about things, and now return to serious, mature and ready.

Publishing original work, on a website for subscribers and users to see.

When I was a teenager, I discovered a website called fanfiction.net where users created many upon many stories using characters from fav television shows, movies and so on. I came across it after reading a few fanfics about my fav pairing Zuko and Katara, or Zutara as the shippers call it, from Avatar: The Last Airbender. I then got into Yu-Gi-Oh! fanfics and even read a few around Teen Titans and a few other shows. Before I go on, I just want to say: NO SHAME. PROUD OF IT.

That was when the writing bug bit me actually: writing fanfiction. I lasted a year for personal reasons I will not disclose here, but I loved writing and creating these original scenarios, including my own characters, or OCs, as they call them in fanfics.

I bring this up because this website called Channillo caught my attention (I enclosed a link at the end of this post). A new follower named Kara Klotz founded the website. Here’s the description from the FAQs:

“Channillo is a digital publishing platform for serialized literature. Since our launch on March 30, 2015, hundreds of writers have joined Channillo to publish their work in categories such as fiction novels, short stories, essays, columns, journal entries, and poetry.” (Credit: http://www.channillo.com/for-writers/faq/ ).

I was intrigued by the serial format, which reminded me of my Victorian Novel class with our discussions of Dickens’ Bleak House, Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South and George Eliot’s Middlemarch, to name a few. I found it cool you could do a series of essays and journal entries too. You also get paid too which is nice! Also, if you don’t want to get paid, you can actually donate your earnings to a charity of your choice, which I found refreshing.

So, here we go again. A new adventure. New projects to work on, dipping my toes into this new territory that is Channillo and whatever else may come next. I want to give a shout out to Kara Klotz for the follow and congrats with your website; I can’t wait to check out some of the work there and post something there soon!

If you want to check out Channillo or learn more, here’s their website!! Also give Kara Klotz a follow on Twitter and whatever other platforms you have!!

Leave a Reply

