The Second Instagram Adventure: Why Am I Doing This Again??

Main social media brands - Illustration
Main social media brands – Illustration including Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, LinkedIn, Google Plus, YouTube (Courtesy of freerangestock.com)

So as some of you know, social media and I have a love/hate kind of relationship. I don’t have Facebook and refuse to get one, and I only utilize Twitter. The others…I don’t even bother or care. That’s how much of an old-fashioned goofball I am. I really do wonder sometimes if I skipped some phase in life where you’re hooked on all these forms of social media…or maybe it’s just maturity and wisdom beyond my years.

So here I am, on a Friday afternoon as I wait for leaves to start changing, praying and sending thoughts to those in the path of Hurricane Matthew and tweaking my resume thanks to some encouragement from alums from a post I wrote on LinkedIn, getting instagram again. (I might save the idea of LinkedIn to help with career stuff for a later post so stay tuned for that!)

So, why did I get instagram again? Well, one of the new tools on instagram now is called Instagram stories. Like Snapchat, the photo or video disappears, but only after 24 hours, kind of like Periscope videos. I know I sound like a dummy here but that’s what comes to mind haha. I guess it’s easy to assume that most young people are tech savvy and have all these accounts. When, in reality, they don’t. Or, they did, but for a number of various reasons got rid of an account. I did check out instagram accounts around cats, though along with a few others…like David Archuleta’s.

It’s because of that 25 year old goofball that I got instagram again, thanks to an instagram story he shared today of him whistling. WHISTLING. Absolute silliness!!

I only saw screenshots on fansites, so I wanted to see the video for myself and voila here I am back on instagram again. The short video was adorable and made me face palm and shake my head, but that’s just how I am with stuff he does sometimes. Again, back to the idea of maturity when someone acts silly and you sometimes roll your eyes at said silliness. It’s all in good fun though!!

But, as they say, with age comes wisdom. Now being 23, perhaps instagram could be used as an opportunity to show nature photos that I take sometimes and maybe inspire people. For those who know me well, and have seen all the posts on this blog, I write A TON. On Twitter it comes out as numerous tweets and can be hard sometimes to break what you wish to say down to 140 characters.

But I think a positive can be found here.

During my final year at Smith, I participated in this photography workshop, run by a woman named Amanda Herman, for a few weeks in between the craziness of classes, work, friends and the like. One of our assignments was called an Instagram essay where we displayed a photo and told the story around it. I wish I could recall the person who was mentioned during that meeting that does things like this but his name has, sadly, slipped my mind. That’s what the chaos and stresses of life can do to you sometimes. You forget things. But I loved the experience and it really helped me to love myself better, especially after the self-portrait assignment where I kept fussing over getting the perfect picture. Whereas, I just focused on ME, and it came out beautifully.

Anyway, that is one positive thing, no begrudging either. I could probably also link to my blog from there, too, like I do through Twitter and LinkedIn. Will have to figure that out, though. But at least the link is on my profile haha.

So here we go again. The fight with the social media craze while trying to see opportunity and a way to utilize the platform without going overboard. Wish me luck, and thanks Archuleta for getting me back in there again XP.

How do you utilize instagram as a writer? What has changed for you since you first got an account? If you don’t have one anymore, why?

NOTE: I will add the instagram link to this blog when I am ready, might need a little time on that.

Leave a Reply

