My Reaction to the 2016 Election

This is a topic I refuse to touch upon because of the numerous opinions, arguments and complexity that can come about. I try to avoid or ignore the subject as much as possible.

But, today, I feel in my heart that I should speak.

It is currently a little after 10:30 a.m. on this Wednesday morning and there are many emotions rampant across this country right now: fear, anger, sadness, hopelessness, hope, joy and…hate. Also cannot forget stunned.

One of the news stations here decided to do something today: #BeKindonWMN. Whoever you voted for yesterday, win or lose, there should still be opportunity to show kindness to one another. To be civil and care for one another despite our differences.

That spoke to me.

I woke up this morning feeling a number of different emotions myself. But you know what? I believe love, hope and faith can triumph over hate and fear every time. Maybe not right away, but it does eventually. I looked at my Twitter feed and saw numerous reactions of anger, fear and worry. People have a right to feel that way I do not judge anyone for that. But I also found something else that began taking shape: asking for kindness. Fellow writers I follow, for example, discussing a focus on their art to express their feelings and do some good for others. Another an account posting a quote from the great Walt Disney:

“That’s what storytellers do. We restore order with imagination. We instill hope again & again & again.”

These things made me stop to think. It is very easy to get angry and scared with so much division in this country.  There is so much uncertainty right now with so many things.

But that doesn’t mean we have to let those emotions rule us; we can use them to make change for the greater good. However, that cannot be done alone. We need to come together, to talk, to listen and share our joys, hurts and fears.

This is what I tweeted this morning in terms of kindness:

“Please let kindness rule today, no matter how you feel. We are still Americans and can still do so much in this world.”

I may be a writer, but I am a person too. With feelings that matter and are valid just like yours. We all need to express our feelings today, and do something about them for change to really happen.

Please be kind today.

 

Leave a Reply

