I Will Never Be Perfect: My Changes for 2017

20170107_151025
First Full Week of 2017! My new desk calendar

Happy New Year everyone! I’m sure, like me, you are all relieved, cautiously optimistic, hopeful and relieved that 2016 is finally behind us at last! A full week has officially gone by in 2017 already…

I hope if you are dealing with today’s snow, like I am even though we will be expecting less in accumulation, that you are warm and safe!

Anyway, how many of you have and/or do New Year’s Resolutions? I have done some in the past, but like many, always gave up on them after a while. The last time I had a resolution on hand was a few years ago where I wanted to write in my journal every day. For about four months, I did just that.

Until I missed a day and was really hard on myself about it. The resolution wasn’t the same after that, so I stopped focusing on it and just wrote in general when I felt like it. The thing is, I was a teenager then.

Now, I am in my early 20s. I didn’t wait until the 1st day of the year to start my resolutions and some much needed cleaning. I actually started the final week of 2016 as a way to leave things in the past: did some cleaning when junk was piling up in my bedroom, took time to clean out my emails, kicked drama out of my life i.e. fansites and took a couple days off from the job search so I could chill out and try to find my encouragement again.

As the ball dropped in Times Square on TV, I had my new Booklover’s desk calendar that I received for Christmas in front of me. As the seconds ticked down, I took a deep breath, exhaling when midnight struck. I then threw my arms in the air and ripped off my calendar to show Sunday January 1, 2017. Instead of resolutions, I am making changes: trying to sleep better, finally try to eat healthier, make time to write and finally find that job.

This first full week didn’t go well, but it didn’t upset me. Because it made me realize I will never be perfect. Sometimes I need a day where I want to stay in my pajamas and curl up with a book. Sometimes I need to put something off for a day to ease my anxiety and worries. Other times, I just have to be alone or be with friends. As long as I get back up and try again, the changes are worth fighting for.

I am trying to remember what makes me happy for 2017; remember how I got to where I am now, my strengths and that I am a good writer. That I will find that job.That, after seven long years fighting for this, I will finally see and meet David Archuleta in some shape or form.

Change is never easy, and change stinks sometimes. But, we need it to get where we want to be, and find out who we really are.

What changes do you have in mind for 2017?

 

 

Leave a Reply

