I Need a New “Novel Romance”!: Hallmark Channel Movies and Craving Books for Pleasure Reading Again

On a lazy Saturday, I did something that I haven’t done in a while: watch an original movie on the Hallmark Channel. For many reasons in the past year, I haven’t given myself time to relax and enjoy one of their many inspirational films. Today, that changed with a sweet, heartfelt and funny Hallmark Channel Original Movie called “A Novel Romance”:

719gxl3nqal-_sy445_
Credit: Image from Amazon.com

Starring Amy Acker (Person of Interest) and Dylan Bruce (As the World Turns and Orphan Black), the film centers on bestselling romance author Liam Bradley who uses the pen name Gabriel August and whose true persona is mysterious to his fans and readers; and honest and wary of new love book reviewer Sophie Atkinson. The main protagonists meet on a flight to Portland, OR where Liam goes for inspiration for his next book and Sophie returning to her hometown. Throughout the film, Sophie wrestles with her prior hurt from an ex and budding feelings for Liam while he contends with the inevitable reality of having to reveal the man behind Gabriel August and completing his next book to please his publisher.

I write this post a few hours after watching the film, flipping through various crime shows and parents watching NFL playoffs (the Patriots v. Texans game just starting). The film stuck with me, one being because books were a part of the story and the other because I guess the originality made me feel good…it was something I’ve missed lately. When I entered my third year of college, I didn’t have a lot of time to read books or watch films because of the amount of schoolwork that I had. When I came home for break, it was a nice change to relax on the couch and watch a Hallmark movie, particularly the Christmas ones. Some of my favorite Hallmark Movies include “The Nanny Express”, “Catch a Christmas Star”, “A Country Wedding”, “I Married Who?”, to name a couple.

The debate over book verses film adaptations is a topic of discussion for another post, especially because some become films that are shown on Hallmark as well.

My love for books waned a lot during and after college and as I struggle to get more work out there and build my publication credits. I admit, there is nothing wrong with analyzing a book so you can learn and better understand how your favorite authors work. But, even writers need to have some fun and relax too!

“A Novel Romance” served as that reminder for me. As a writer, the work is critical and you should try to work as best you can. Yet at the same time, a writer needs to read for fun and pleasure! You should read, or reread, a book and fall in love with it!! Maybe I took the romance thing too literally (haha!), but hey even the best writers need to enjoy things and be merry!

It will take time, but I hope to find my love for books again. I hope you will too.

Happy reading for pleasure and content!

 

 

Leave a Reply

