I Need a Break: Giving Up Twitter for Lent

I remembered this morning that tomorrow is Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent. For those who may not be familiar with this season, Lent lasts for six weeks beginning on Ash Wednesday and ending Easter Sunday. During this period, people spend time reflecting on Jesus Christ and His sacrifices for our sins, including giving up something for 40 days as a form of self-denial and repentance. 2017’s Lent starts March 1st and ends on Thursday, April 13th, Holy Thursday.

I tried to think of something to give up for the next 40 days, wanting to try it again and stick to it opposed to failing in years past. In my heart, I found my answer immediately.

I am giving up Twitter.

Twitter was one of the first social media sites I really began to use more frequently. I think I had MySpace one time a long time ago but it wasn’t used a lot. I have struggled numerous times to get rid of it because of the writing connections I found, discovering new things and people and just being a little more aware, too aware actually, of the things around the world.

After the Golden Globes earlier this year, I decided to take Twitter off of my phone. It was gone for almost a week…and it felt rejuvenating. I did it because I knew it would be crazy after Meryl Streep’s speech garnered so much attention.

I have thought over my connection to social media, my platform as a writer and why I even stuck with the thing all this time. But today, I realize I need to walk away for a while.

The only posts that will appear on Twitter will be from here and Goodreads when I finish, start or update my page counts with a book. No retweets, likes or comments on stuff that I should’ve ignored a long time ago. I will still be on Instagram but may not do many posts there either. You can also catch me on Goodreads and LinkedIn.

There comes a time when you need to gain perspective, take away one of the main distractions from your craft and just not worry about everyone else, politics or not. It would be easy to just delete my account and then restore it after Lent is over, but I know my followers would want to know what’s going on. I don’t want to be irresponsible about this decision.

Until Easter, see ya Twitter!

 

Leave a Reply

