The Brave Writer: How Words Release Your Soul

photo_1170_20060224
Image: Chance Agrella (freerangestock.com)

How many times have you found yourself unable to express your feelings? Have you ever felt nothing could get your emotions out no matter how much you tried?

I’ve been there, a lot. Speaking as a child was always hard. You never felt listened to, you stuttered or messed up your words. People made fun of you for what you said, serious or not. I think we can all agree that words hurt, A LOT, just as they can heal, inspire, make us laugh and anger us.

But what would any of us be without words? Without words, we would not be able to express our feelings to someone, learn something new, talk things out and inspire many readers around the world. I guess I’ve been thinking of that more lately after a post I wrote on LinkedIn. As some of you may know, the job search can be tough. It’s easy to forget that others are struggling, feel discouraged and hopeless and lose their confidence just like you do. I decided to write about it on LinkedIn and I know plenty of you saw my last post here because I mentioned it there. I was overwhelmed by those who found comfort in my words and felt less alone, encouraged by another sharing their story and being brave enough to do it.

We should all aspire to be brave and write how we feel, even if it’s hard.

I’d like to say something about words, not just as a writer, but as a person.

photo_10379_20090426
Image: Freerange Stock Archives (freerangestock.com)

Our words can still make a difference. To speak them, however, an ounce of bravery and taking a leap of faith is required. Sometimes your words will be praised, other times rejected. You also have the times where people will lash out for reasons we may never know nor understand.

Then there is the silence where no words are shared at all. It’s there I feel not just us writers, but all of us worry and get scared. We worry if we offended someone, that we said something wrong or…maybe people are just left speechless in a good way that they cannot find the words to express their emotions.

For me, words scarred my heart for a long time. But, words have also mended and healed when I never asked for them. I know with this blog it has been a leap of faith to share my thoughts in a forum of this magnitude. There are many more blogs out there besides my own that people read and respond to in different ways. Writing words helps us be open, honest and get things off our chest that we may not be able to verbally. Whether we write them in a journal, a blog, on social media and so on, writing helps us speak truth.

Maybe more of us should do that more often.

So express yourself using the words in your heart. Write them out if you cannot say them aloud. You might feel different and just might inspire someone you’ve never met later on to write out their feelings too.

Happy writing!

I also want to quickly say to all those who checked out my LinkedIn post, thank you :). Also, my Book of the Month for September is up! Go to Book of the Month 2017 in the menu and look for September. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

